Video Widget not working in Preview but does on player

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 3 years ago
  • Solved
A few of our presentations we use regularly seems to be having an odd issue. The presentation plays correctly on our players. Both players are Chromeboxes with one being the production unit running Chrome 45.0.2454.98 with Rise Player 15.10.7.9312 and the test unit in my office being Chrome 46.0.2490.82 running Rise Player 15.11.20.7944. However, when I preview the presentation on my laptop I receive the "The selected video does not exist or has been moved to Trash." error on an all white screen. The presentation has but one placeholder. I'm using Chrome Version 47.0.2526.73 (64-bit) on my MacBook Pro and have tried clearing the cache and logging out and back in; to no avail. 

The media asset(s) are stored in Amazon S3 and if I copy/paste the address that's in the widget's destination into a new Chrome tab, the video loads and plays without issue. 
Photo of Robert Schoneman

Robert Schoneman, Champion

  • 4,990 Points 4k badge 2x thumb

Posted 3 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Robert Schoneman

Robert Schoneman, Champion

  • 4,990 Points 4k badge 2x thumb
I just downloaded Chromium 338390 (45.0.2454.0), since that's what our production Chromeboxes run, and tried the preview link. Same result. The issue seems to be with the Preview mechanism.
Photo of HSuarez

HSuarez

  • 11,896 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
Hi Rob,
I am looking into this issue now.  Do you have the link that you can send through to the presentation containing the video widget?  Thanks!

Hannah
Photo of Robert Schoneman

Robert Schoneman, Champion

  • 4,990 Points 4k badge 2x thumb
Hannah, 

Thanks! 

Here's the preview link: http://preview.risevision.com/Viewer.html?type=presentation&id=3a4cd4c5-8c06-4464-bd23-91759a39f6bf

The one video file that this presentation references with the Video Widget is: http://bpa-ds-encodeoutput.s3.amazonaws.com/Nutcracker+Lobby+Video+-+Founders+Room.webm
Photo of Blake Freeman

Blake Freeman, Official Rep

  • 36,116 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Thanks Robert, I'll have our developers take a look.
Photo of HSuarez

HSuarez

  • 11,896 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
Hi Rob,

I ran the preview on Chrome Version 47.0.2526.73 on my Macbook Pro I can see the error message as reported but in Chrome Version 47.0.2526.73 on Windows 10 VM I can see the video playing.  I've downloaded the WEBM, but renamed it to something like Nutcracker.WEBM (so without the + - and other additional characters in the filename) in the Video Widget and ran it to preview on my Macbook Pro and can see the preview now here.  I think in the past having some characters in the filename seem to have no effect on video playing, it other cases it can affect.  Does this help?  Thanks!

Edit: The Content team are currently looking into an improvement for this regarding the video widget.  We'll keep you updated in another reply.

Hannah
(Edited)
Photo of Robert Schoneman

Robert Schoneman, Champion

  • 4,990 Points 4k badge 2x thumb
I just tried changing the link to the video to this http://bpa-ds-encodeoutput.s3.amazonaws.com/Nutcracker%20Lobby%20Video%20-%20Founders%20Room.webm instead but there's no change. We've used many videos with names like this in the past without issue. Seems maybe there was a change in the video widget or preview application? 

Thanks for having the Content team look into this. I'm good with no preview but working players as opposed to the other way around! :) 
Photo of HSuarez

HSuarez

  • 11,896 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
It seems to be an issue relating to spaces in the filenames (shown as %20 in the filename).  Try embedding this link (I've renamed the file) https://storage.googleapis.com/risemedialibrary-960b72df-9af7-476b-8a47-b67ded4c779d/Nutcracker.webm
(Edited)
Photo of Robert Schoneman

Robert Schoneman, Champion

  • 4,990 Points 4k badge 2x thumb
I've renamed the file to: http://bpa-ds-encodeoutput.s3.amazonaws.com/NutcrackerLobbyVideoFoundersRoom.webm

Still doesn't work correctly. 
Photo of Alan Clayton

Alan Clayton, Official Rep

  • 8,788 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Hi Robert, sorry for the troubles. We've identified the problem and we are working on a fix for it now. I'll have an update for you soon. Thanks!
Photo of Robert Schoneman

Robert Schoneman, Champion

  • 4,990 Points 4k badge 2x thumb
Alan,

Thanks! I/We appreciate the support. As long as the videos keep playing on the players I'm a happy camper! :) 
Photo of Robb

Robb, Official Rep

  • 76,676 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Robert,

I wanted to reach out to see where you were at with this. Can you confirm if you are still having issues?
Photo of Robert Schoneman

Robert Schoneman, Champion

  • 4,990 Points 4k badge 2x thumb
We're all good. Apologies for not following up on this thread to say it's working. Guess that tells you how often I actually preview the content as opposed to just pushing Publish and moving on with things! :)

Thanks for checking!! 
Photo of Robb

Robb, Official Rep

  • 76,676 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
AWESOME. Thanks Robert!