Various issues with Rise today. Preview and ChromeOS showing up a white page

  • 3
  • Problem
  • Updated 3 years ago
  • Solved
Suddenly aroung 17:00 CET (Paris time), preview from Windows did not render. Page stays white. Hitting F12 on Chrome, I see a lot of cross domain scripting errors.
Any idea ?


Chrome console:

Document was loaded from Application Cache with manifest http://preview.risevision.com/offline.manifest
Application Cache Checking event
Application Cache NoUpdate event
Uncaught RangeError: Maximum call stack size exceeded
cytid font was mentionned
lang=en  was mentionned
count was mentionned=3
tz was mentionned=europe/brussels
font was mentionned=5
night was mentionned=0
woptions.showtz was mentionned=0
bgcolor was mentionned=444444
woptions.fgcolor was mentionned=ffffff
showsync was mentionned=1
showflag was mentionned=1
shadow was mentionned=1
title was mentionned=Brussels
city was mentionned=Bruxelles,be
---Refresh --> time: 2016 0 27 18:3
layout set to simple
-----> time: 2016 0 27 18:3
sheet  was mentionned=1XTZhPw739vJS2uRNexl50uHtnbxchqKdGKMIo6MTY-M
<br>Timeout = 15min<br>Getfile function Is firstload=1   ===> localStorage lastmodifiedundefined<br>
<><><><><><><><><><> Refreshing TSV data since header changed 
ResponsiveDesign run resizing font=16.08421052631579
It is night
Sunset: Wed, 27 Jan 2016 07:25:42 GMT Sunrise:  Wed, 27 Jan 2016 16:25:38 GMTUtc now time = Wed, 27 Jan 2016 17:03:55 GMT
2016-01-27T17:03:55+00:00
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> my new function 06:03PM
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> TZ CET
>>>>>>>>>>>>> last sync new function05:33PM
options.layout=simple
update simple DIV
Failed to load resource: net::ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED
XMLHttpRequestProgressEvent
Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found)
Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found)
Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found)
Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found)
Failed to load resource: net::ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED
Rise Cache is not running
XMLHttpRequest cannot load https://media.solvay.com/permalinks/domain1446/2016/01/27/al7ea8gn97-652-20...hort_presentation/652-20160100-_International_SOS_-_Short_presentation.mp4. No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource. Origin 'http://s3.amazonaws.com' is therefore not allowed access.
Read line 0Type	Parameter1	Data1	Status	Embargo-date	Expiration-Date	New-text
Read line 1Change here only to modify the way the ticker is displayed. Change the content of the news in the green section.						
Read line 2Parameter	speed	400	active			
 +++++++++ REad paramerters
Read line 3Parameter	background	#ff0000	active			
 +++++++++ REad paramerters
Read line 4Parameter	separator	  |  	active			
 +++++++++ REad paramerters
Read line 5Parameter	font-size	50px	active			
 +++++++++ REad paramerters
50px
Speed=100
Read line 6Parameter	font-family	Arial	active			
 +++++++++ REad paramerters
Read line 7Parameter	font-color	#ffffff	active			
 +++++++++ REad paramerters
Read line 8Parameter	font-style	Verdana	active			
 +++++++++ REad paramerters
Read line 9Parameter	font-weight	bold	active			
 +++++++++ REad paramerters
Read line 10Parameter	date-format	DD/MM/YYYY HH:mm:ss	active			
 +++++++++ REad paramerters
Read line 11Here is the place to change the news						
Read line 12new		Expiration Reached - Not Shown	active	01/11/2015 22:28:00	11/12/2015 15:30:00	Breaking News - Philippe Panis' Day : CRIP - Trophée CTO 2015 Grande Entreprise attribué à Philippe PANIS du Groupe SOLVAY - Congratulations 
 +++++++++ REad news

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> dump using loop
>>>>> Process now total of 1 news (included expired or under embargo)
New 0Not valid for embargo or expiry
content is  empty
Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (OK)
XMLHttpRequest cannot load https://store-dot-rvaserver2.appspot.com/v1/company//product/status?pc=b0cba08a4baa0c62b8cdc621b6f6a124f89a03db. No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource. Origin 'http://s3.amazonaws.com' is therefore not allowed access. The response had HTTP status code 404.
XMLHttpRequestProgressEvent
XMLHttpRequest cannot load https://media.solvay.com/permalinks/domain1446/2016/01/27/al7ea8gn97-652-20...hort_presentation/652-20160100-_International_SOS_-_Short_presentation.mp4. No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource. Origin 'http://s3.amazonaws.com' is therefore not allowed access.
Failed to load resource: net::ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED
XMLHttpRequestProgressEvent
Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (OK)
XMLHttpRequest cannot load https://store-dot-rvaserver2.appspot.com/v1/company//product/status?pc=b0cba08a4baa0c62b8cdc621b6f6a124f89a03db. No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource. Origin 'http://s3.amazonaws.com' is therefore not allowed access. The response had HTTP status code 404.
XMLHttpRequestProgressEvent
Failed to load resource: net::ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED
XMLHttpRequestProgressEvent
Failed to load resource: net::ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED
XMLHttpRequestProgressEvent
Failed to load resource: net::ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED
XMLHttpRequestProgressEvent
Failed to load resource: net::ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED
XMLHttpRequestProgressEvent
Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (OK)
XMLHttpRequest cannot load https://store-dot-rvaserver2.appspot.com/v1/company//product/status?pc=b0cba08a4baa0c62b8cdc621b6f6a124f89a03db. No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource. Origin 'http://s3.amazonaws.com' is therefore not allowed access. The response had HTTP status code 404.
XMLHttpRequestProgressEvent
Failed to load resource: net::ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED
XMLHttpRequestProgressEvent
Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (OK)
XMLHttpRequest cannot load https://store-dot-rvaserver2.appspot.com/v1/company//product/status?pc=b0cba08a4baa0c62b8cdc621b6f6a124f89a03db. No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource. Origin 'http://s3.amazonaws.com' is therefore not allowed access. The response had HTTP status code 404.
XMLHttpRequestProgressEvent
Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (OK)
XMLHttpRequest cannot load https://store-dot-rvaserver2.appspot.com/v1/company//product/status?pc=b0cba08a4baa0c62b8cdc621b6f6a124f89a03db. No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource. Origin 'http://s3.amazonaws.com' is therefore not allowed access. The response had HTTP status code 404.
XMLHttpRequestProgressEvent
Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (OK)
XMLHttpRequest cannot load https://store-dot-rvaserver2.appspot.com/v1/company//product/status?pc=b0cba08a4baa0c62b8cdc621b6f6a124f89a03db. No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource. Origin 'http://s3.amazonaws.com' is therefore not allowed access. The response had HTTP status code 404.
XMLHttpRequestProgressEvent
Failed to load resource: net::ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED
XMLHttpRequestProgressEvent
Failed to load resource: net::ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED
XMLHttpRequestProgressEvent {}
Failed to load resource: net::ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED
XMLHttpRequestProgressEvent {}
Failed to load resource: net::ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED
XMLHttpRequestProgressEvent {}
Failed to load resource: net::ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED
XMLHttpRequestProgressEvent {}
Failed to load resource: net::ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED
XMLHttpRequestProgressEvent {}
Failed to load resource: net::ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED
XMLHttpRequestProgressEvent {}
GET https://store-dot-rvaserver2.appspot.com/v1/company//product/status?pc=b0cba08a4baa0c62b8cdc621b6f6a124f89a03db 
XMLHttpRequest cannot load https://store-dot-rvaserver2.appspot.com/v1/company//product/status?pc=b0cba08a4baa0c62b8cdc621b6f6a124f89a03db. No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource. Origin 'http://s3.amazonaws.com' is therefore not allowed access. The response had HTTP status code 404.
XMLHttpRequestProgressEvent {}
Failed to load resource: net::ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED
Rise Cache is not running
XMLHttpRequest cannot load https://media.solvay.com/permalinks/domain1446/2016/01/27/al7ea8gn97-652-20...hort_presentation/652-20160100-_International_SOS_-_Short_presentation.mp4. No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource. Origin 'http://s3.amazonaws.com' is therefore not allowed access.
Failed to load resource: net::ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED
Rise Cache is not running
XMLHttpRequest cannot load https://media.solvay.com/permalinks/domain1446/2015/10/19/k7shn9rp1k-431-SB...lides/431-SBS_detailed_Management_Teams_Facebook_October_2015_2_slides.mp4. No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource. Origin 'http://s3.amazonaws.com' is therefore not allowed access.
XMLHttpRequest cannot load https://media.solvay.com/permalinks/domain1446/2016/01/27/al7ea8gn97-652-20...hort_presentation/652-20160100-_International_SOS_-_Short_presentation.mp4. No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource. Origin 'http://s3.amazonaws.com' is therefore not allowed access.
Failed to load resource: net::ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED
Rise Cache is not running
Failed to load resource: net::ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED
Rise Cache is not running
XMLHttpRequest cannot load https://media.solvay.com/permalinks/domain1446/2016/01/27/al7ea8gn97-652-20...hort_presentation/652-20160100-_International_SOS_-_Short_presentation.mp4. No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource. Origin 'http://s3.amazonaws.com' is therefore not allowed access.
XMLHttpRequest cannot load https://asset-premium.keepeek.com/permalinks/domain1446/2015/06/06/g55opl0n...imated_PPT-_Mai_2015-3/154-Let_s_discover_SBS_animated_PPT-_Mai_2015-3.mp4. No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource. Origin 'http://s3.amazonaws.com' is therefore not allowed access.
Failed to load resource: net::ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED
Rise Cache is not running
XMLHttpRequest cannot load https://media.solvay.com/permalinks/domain1446/2015/12/16/b8r4hpvye9-581-Video_voeux_Solvay_2016/581-Video_voeux_Solvay_2016.mp4. No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource. Origin 'http://s3.amazonaws.com' is therefore not allowed access.
XMLHttpRequest cannot load https://asset-premium.keepeek.com/permalinks/domain1446/2015/06/06/g55opl0n...imated_PPT-_Mai_2015-3/154-Let_s_discover_SBS_animated_PPT-_Mai_2015-3.mp4. No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource. Origin 'http://s3.amazonaws.com' is therefore not allowed access.
XMLHttpRequest cannot load https://media.solvay.com/permalinks/domain1446/2015/12/16/b8r4hpvye9-581-Video_voeux_Solvay_2016/581-Video_voeux_Solvay_2016.mp4. No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource. Origin 'http://s3.amazonaws.com' is therefore not allowed access.
Failed to load resource: net::ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED
Rise Cache is not running
XMLHttpRequest cannot load http://nohas89.eua.solvay.com:8080/thierry.masson/social-feed/img/gplus-Twitter-Facebook-Instagram.png. No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource. Origin 'http://s3.amazonaws.com' is therefore not allowed access.
Uncaught RangeError: Maximum call stack size exceeded



 
Photo of Thierry Masson

Thierry Masson

  • 922 Points 500 badge 2x thumb

Posted 3 years ago

  • 3
Photo of Thierry Masson

Thierry Masson, Champion

  • 2,356 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
Very strange.
Since I had pages running correctly, I remove one placeholder at a time on the page not showing up correctly.
Finally, I found that a placeholder contained one widget image with a schedule that was expired. I removed that widget and the page now shows up correctly.
However, I still have a lot of errors in the Chrome console. Many are related to a problem with the cache :

Failed to load resource: net::ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED   http://localhost:9494/ping?callback=_
Rise Cache is not running

XMLHttpRequest cannot load https://media.solvay.com/permalinks/domain1446/2016/01/27/al7ea8gn97-652-20...hort_presentation/652-20.... No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource. Origin 'http://s3.amazonaws.com' is therefore not allowed access.

I've an error for all MP4 referenced by the video widget but at the end they finally show up correctly.
Photo of HSuarez

HSuarez

  • 11,896 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
Hi Thierry,
In the example that you've sent through in the reply, I've noted that it is an image is linking to a https file name. Can you please confirm that this is an Image Widget linking to an externally hosted image? In the Placeholder for that Image Widget, is there an error message on the Display?

Thanks!
Photo of Thierry Masson

Thierry Masson, Champion

  • 2,356 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
Hello,
Thanks taking time on my issue.
Indeed, http://nohas89.eua.solvay.com:8080/thierry.masson/social-feed/img/gplus-Twitter-Facebook-Instagram.p... is the PNG image that is located on a local server (available on our Intranet) and that I removed from the page causing the page to render correctly.
But it is an HTTP link, not HTTPS.
Very strange.
I worked today several time on this page with preview and suddenly did not work any longer like some other pages. But some other were fine.
Anyway, it is back to normal but don't know what happened.
Photo of HSuarez

HSuarez

  • 11,896 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
Thanks! Based on that things are back to how it should be with the presentation. I'll mark this away from In Progress, if there is anything else let us know.
Photo of Robert Schoneman

Robert Schoneman, Champion

  • 4,990 Points 4k badge 2x thumb
Everything is working fine for me. Just previewed a presentation from both the Classics and New Editor. No issues. The errors around http://localhost:9494... are the Rise Cache and in previews it doesn't run, if I remember correctly. I see those all the time in the Dev Console when I preview presentations. 
Photo of Thierry Masson

Thierry Masson, Champion

  • 2,356 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
Hi Robert,
Thanks for your time.
I must admit it is the first time I looked to the Chrome console on a Rise Preview.
So, I understand it is usual to have error messages.
But I'm surprised by so many CORS errors (corss domain scripting errors).
Have a good evening (it is 19:07 here at Brussels).
Thierry
Photo of Stephen Garrett

Stephen Garrett, Champion

  • 2,674 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
I felt like I looked at the console a lot, but recently these errors have started popping up. The weird thing in my case though is that the images will actually end up loading after throwing out the error.
Photo of Stephen Garrett

Stephen Garrett, Champion

  • 2,674 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
Robert, I didn't realize that is what was happening when it was trying to do the localhost call. Now I don't have to look that up!
Photo of Thierry Masson

Thierry Masson, Champion

  • 2,356 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
Hello Robert
Stephen reports the same kind of issue when images are saved on local servers.
Where are your images or videos saved to ? On Rise cloud storage or on external servers ?
Thanks.
Thierry
Photo of Robert Schoneman

Robert Schoneman, Champion

  • 4,990 Points 4k badge 2x thumb
All of our content is stored in Amazon S3.
Photo of Stephen Garrett

Stephen Garrett, Champion

  • 2,674 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
So what ultimately happened with this? I am having the same type of issue pulling images from local servers.
Photo of Stephen Garrett

Stephen Garrett, Champion

  • 2,674 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
Yeah, I didn't see this thread before I posted that, but this seems very similar.
Photo of HSuarez

HSuarez

  • 11,896 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
Hi Stephen,
I think Blake may have requested this already - can you send through the link/s of the Presentations that has this issue and also the name/OS of the Displays?
Thanks!
Hannah
Photo of Thierry Masson

Thierry Masson, Champion

  • 2,356 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
And are still experiencing issues with Rise Vision today ?
We have from time to time but I was not able to figure out the root cause.
I'm very surprise about the XMLHttpRequest errors due to cross-site scripting and don't understand why finally the video get played anyway. 

Maybe it is specific to the Rise Preview in Chrome that don't use the Rise player. But we have got strange behavior starting yesterday pm on the Chrome OS Rise player stations. For instance, a reboot of the player shown a blank page. I'm puzzled.
Photo of Stephen Garrett

Stephen Garrett, Champion

  • 2,674 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
Hey Hannah, I just posted a link on the other thread, I took out the custom widgets we normally have in our presentations, too. So now there are just two image placeholders, a time widget, and the RSS gadget.
Photo of Thierry Masson

Thierry Masson, Champion

  • 2,356 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
To HSuarez,

Thanks for your effort. I may share but not sure it will be helpful since part of the content is on internal servers. 
http://preview.risevision.com/Viewer.html?type=presentation&id=ef7f5bf5-775f-45ca-a17b-897505a694d3

The preview shows a blank page while the day before yesterday, it worked. IN fact, if I remove on image widget with this image that is store on a local Web server (and the image does exist), the page is displayed correctly.

NOte that I'm also worrying about this message :

XMLHttpRequest cannot load https://media.solvay.com/permalinks/domain1446/2015/12/16/b8r4hpvye9-581-Video_voeux_Solvay_2016/581.... No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource. Origin 'http://s3.amazonaws.com' is therefore not allowed access. 

It is about a MP4 in a video widget and the video is saved out of RiseVision storage. But, if the image widget here before is removed, all plays correctly even with the XMLHttpRequest  error message.

Here is a version of the same page removing the image. All shows up correctly (don't worry about errors because some widget refers to  pages hosted internally on our Intranet).

http://preview.risevision.com/Viewer.html?type=presentation&id=b3abeed2-53a7-4472-ae00-f75a4549fce7
 
(Edited)
Photo of Thierry Masson

Thierry Masson, Champion

  • 2,356 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
To complete Stephen's last comment, the Chrome console reports this :

XMLHttpRequest cannot load https://media.solvay.com/permalinks/domain1446/2015/12/16/b8r4hpvye9-581-Video_voeux_Solvay_2016/581.... No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource. Origin 'http://s3.amazonaws.com' is therefore not allowed access.

So, according me, the widget that is saved at Amazon reports it not able to load the MP4 media from our external DAM (Digital asset management) tool. But in practice, it is displayed on the screen anyway.

Do we have to care about ? Is there something we should do on the media.solvay.com server to avoid such errors? Do your recommend to add a Access-Control-Allow-Origin: policy? What would be the servers to allow (to avoid setting a large Access-Control-Allow-Origin: *) 

 I'm afraid that at long term, the error could lead to something worst.

Thank you.
(Edited)
Photo of Robert Schoneman

Robert Schoneman, Champion

  • 4,990 Points 4k badge 2x thumb
The errors you're seeing are Cross Orogin Resource Sharing (CORS) errors. There's ways around it if you look up the W3 spec. I know Chrome is tightening their CORS security but that's about all I know. Sorry.
Photo of Thierry Masson

Thierry Masson, Champion

  • 2,356 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
Hello Robert,
Thanks commenting. OK but you are lucky (or very clever or more probably, both) because the Rise widget are also stored at Amazon. So, by having your images and videos on Amazon,  I guess you avoid the cross domain scripting limitation ;-)
(Edited)
Photo of Stephen Garrett

Stephen Garrett, Champion

  • 2,674 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
I think I kind of understand what I would need to do add the stuff to the headers for our resources, but I am not in charge of our apache processes here. I have brought it up to our management, but I don't know how adding the CORS headers would affect our other sites.
Photo of Blake Freeman

Blake Freeman, Official Rep

  • 36,116 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Thierry,

An update was released to our Image and Video Widgets this morning to rectify the CORS errors you are seeing. Could you reboot your devices and let me know how they look?
Photo of Stephen Garrett

Stephen Garrett, Champion

  • 2,674 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
Hey Blake,

We are now getting no images on our boxes, but our custom widgets, the clock, and RSS gadget are working.
Photo of Stephen Garrett

Stephen Garrett, Champion

  • 2,674 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
Blake,

I tried the preview again, and I still get CORS errors.... but I know our servers aren't set up to provide the Access Control Header stuff that's normally needed. Is the player supposed to take care of pulling stuff together, or am I supposed to set it up on my end? We haven't had these errors before so I always assumed the player was handling those issues.
Photo of Alan Clayton

Alan Clayton, Official Rep

  • 8,788 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Hi Stephen, 

How images are requested in Preview is different from when requested by Rise Player. If your server does not allow CORS the images will not appear. When the same content is ran on Rise Player CORS is not an issue because there is not a cross domain request. Our caching mechanism will make a direct request to the file on your server.

If you'd like to avoid this situation or if you don't want to deal with server side configuration you should look at using Rise Storage.

Hope that helps. Thanks!
Photo of Stephen Garrett

Stephen Garrett, Champion

  • 2,674 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
That helps a lot Alan! Thanks!

We are going to have to set up the servers to make sure we can do this. Our workflow has been going more and more towards this type of thing, so we would benefit from setting up CORS once and for all.
Photo of Thierry Masson

Thierry Masson, Champion

  • 2,356 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
Hello Blake,

Very impressive response time on your side.
I can not check the signage station so far but I asked a colleague to tell me if it runs correctly after reboot. Answer is YES but the problem we met with some content not showing up was a bit random. Let's wait if it is stable.

Hower, using the page preview from Windows 7 and checking the Chrome console, I see there are still Cors errors for the content. For instance on this preview (skip the placeholder error since the URL widget links to page on internal servers).

http://preview.risevision.com/Viewer.html?type=presentation&id=b3abeed2-53a7-4472-ae00-f75a4549f...
Photo of Alan Clayton

Alan Clayton, Official Rep

  • 8,788 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Hi Thierry, take a look at the response I just posted to Stephen above. 

Thanks!
Photo of Thierry Masson

Thierry Masson, Champion

  • 2,356 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
I've seen it already. Thanks.
It is a bit annoying for the preview but the most important think is that the Rise client is not impacted by CORS.
But Stephen told that the error messages are new. On my side, I can not tell because I discover the errors with preview only yesterday.
And finally, it is strange also that some of our RiseVision stations have been impacted by page not rendering correctly (blank page displayed) from yesterday.
Thanks for your reply.
Photo of Alan Clayton

Alan Clayton, Official Rep

  • 8,788 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Thanks Thierry. I doubt the CORS issue in Preview is something new as we've never been able to show images in that scenario.

As for the content rendering....that is a separate issue being looked into now. This should be resolved very soon. 

Thanks
Photo of Stephen Garrett

Stephen Garrett, Champion

  • 2,674 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
The only error I have ever seen in the console during a preview was the error about the http://localhost:9494... connection being refused.
Photo of William Oneal

William Oneal, Champion

  • 13,770 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
You will get that because there is no cache server to respond back during a preview. Only an app or player will be able to do something with that, not the preview.

My question to rise would be why is this asking for cache during a preview. On my video widget i have it separate to where cache is not called during a preview. It only calls if the presentation is being displayed through a player. Either way it still works and nothing to be afraid of on the error but i would think good coding and less error messages would make things look clean and better. 
Photo of Alan Clayton

Alan Clayton, Official Rep

  • 8,788 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Appreciate the feedback. As you mention that "error" in console is just a message and will not cause any problems, but we'll review internally and discuss an improvement to prevent it from showing. Thanks!
Photo of Stephen Garrett

Stephen Garrett, Champion

  • 2,674 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
Thanks William, that was something I had on my list of things to troubleshoot. I have now crossed it off. :)
Photo of Blake Freeman

Blake Freeman, Official Rep

  • 36,116 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Theirry,

It appears that your PUD Placeholder was set to ph0, and that placeholder was set to invisible. This was the cause of the presentation not displaying. We've pushed a fix that should take care of this, things that are marked as visible in the presentation will appear, regardless of if the PUD Placeholder is marked as visible or not.
Photo of Thierry Masson

Thierry Masson, Champion

  • 2,356 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
Excellent. Thanks a lot.
Congratulation for the fantastic service support.
Photo of Thierry Masson

Thierry Masson, Champion

  • 2,356 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
As a conclusion for the errors we got ... Still some doubts on CORS behavior.
  • PUD placeholder set to ph0 and set as invisible, preventing the whole page content to be displayed. Fix pushed bu Blake.
    Sorry asking but what PUD stands for ?
      
  • CORS issue.
    Previewing a page with content saved on an Rise external server not allowing CORS leads to Chrome log error in console (XMLHttpRequest cannot load ... No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource ..) and prevents the external image to be displayed.
    Note:
    This is not the behavior I get. I get the XMLHttpRequest error in Chrome log due to the use of this image. However, the page gets displayed in preview mode.
    Here is the link to the preview : http://preview.risevision.com/Viewer.html?type=presentation&id=b978b22c-fd38-49e0-9e13-f7def97a4... 

    Question to Rise team: If we want to restrict Access-Control-Allow-Origin to a specific domain, what should it be http://s3.amazonaws.com ? 
      
  •  Since yesterday (but might have started a bit earlier), I have been noticing that after a server reboot, Chrome RiseVision client on our Chrome OS boxes starts correctly but the displayed page stays blank and after 5 or 10 minutes, suddenly, it shows up with the right content. Same if page is re-published (page referenced here before).
    Any idea where this comes from ?
    We had such similar behavior in the past during a week period and suddenly disappeared.
    Behavior checked with : Chrome 47.0.2526.110
(Edited)
Photo of Ashleigh

Ashleigh

  • 3,740 Points 3k badge 2x thumb
Hi Thierry,

PUD stands for 'Play Until Done'.

As for your CORS issue, viewing your log I see you are trying to configure a few third party links that are broken, particularly a Facebook link I don't have permission to. (https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xfa1/v/t1.0-9/12369155_9XXXXXXXX92)  (I X'd out the values and the rest of the URL for privacy concerns) I think this issue just relies on the servers you are using -- I'd be sure that you stick to a reliable third party server to upload all your assets to. http://s3.amaonaws.com is great!

If your Chrome OS is lagging, I'd look into the network or perhaps memory usage on that machine. If you are only experiencing this issue with the attached presentation, I'm concerned about the server once more. Additionally, I'd try reinstalling CAP
to see if the issue will persist.

Thanks!

Ashleigh
Photo of Thierry Masson

Thierry Masson, Champion

  • 2,356 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
Thanks for such quick reply.
All 3rd party links are broken to you since located on our Internal servers. From our network, the RiseVison rendering works perfectly well.

Some of them will stay internal for privacy and security reasons. But I'm considering to move them directly on the cloud and indeed Amazon might be the right place to put.

THe strange thing is that the problem of having the Risevison page frozen for 5 to 10 minutes is only at boot time. Once the page shows up, the schedule runs correctly showing several pages. I will try moving the order of the pages to see if this reboot freeze is related to a specific page.