User Interface problem in the New Editor

  • 2
  • Problem
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • Acknowledged
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members.

After accidentally losing 3+ hours of work progress I believe it is a significant one. The problem is very simple - the darn RESTORE button is way to close to SAVE button and it is so easy to click it accidentally and lose all of your SAVED progress. That also raised few questions:

#1 What is the point of SAVE button if it does not save anything?

#2 Why you do you think that putting these 2 buttons right next to each other was a better solution then separating them? For example, putting SAVE, SAVE & PREVIEW, PUBLISH all together at the top and leaving RESTORE alone at the bottom?

#3 Because RESTORE can be so destructive, do not you think that some sort of confirmation would be a good idea (similar when you try to close unsaved presentation)?

You ask why I never pressed PUBLISH? Good question. The answer is because this presentation was not assigned to any schedule or display yet.
Photo of Darius - PRODO.us

Darius - PRODO.us, Champion

  • 26,850 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
  • pissed off

Posted 2 years ago

  • 2
Photo of Ezequiel Conte

Ezequiel Conte, Employee

  • 874 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
Hi Darius,

thanks for the feedback. We will take it into account and address some of the concerns soon.

I completely agree with you that we need a confirmation before RESTORE. The only thing I don't follow is your comment on SAVE button not saving.
I double checked and once I hit SAVE, it does save my Presentation. Did you mention it because the saved content got replaced by the RESTORE? Could you clarify?

Thank you!
Photo of Darius - PRODO.us

Darius - PRODO.us, Champion

  • 26,850 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Ezequiel, yes, you are technically right. It does "save" the progress, but what good it is as everything what was saved can be wiped off without any chance for recovering the saved information. There is no logic behind it; the information must be saved some place. Anyway, I get it, I understand how you designed this SAVING - PUBLISHING - RESTORING part to work. But man, how little it took to just go to square 1. Although, I already rebuild what was lost, but it really makes me mad just thinking about that ))) You really need to put some safeguards where the action can be so destructive.
Photo of Ezequiel Conte

Ezequiel Conte, Employee

  • 874 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
Thanks for the clarification, Darius. We are going to work on it. Cheers!
Photo of AdGators AdGators

AdGators AdGators

  • 3,612 Points 3k badge 2x thumb
I agree that these buttons are somewhat confusing, especially since previous UI had all navigation in the same section. Now I feel like their are 3 sections to click on.

I'm attaching an image with some photoshop edits to your UI. Not saying it has to be exactly this, only trying to get the idea ball rolling.

Photo of AdGators AdGators

AdGators AdGators

  • 3,612 Points 3k badge 2x thumb
I also had a UX issue that I'd like to bring up. When adding a Video by URL, it would be nice to progress into the Edit Playlist Item window to finalize configuration of the Playlist Item Name, Video Length, and Timeline. Those three items I feel like are always on my radar when operating in Rise Vision.

I'm not sure the process when using Rise Vision storage. My current process is, I click Save (first attachment) and am presented with initial Presentation screen with full playlist of items in left pane. I now have to find my untitled playlist video, and select the Duration button in order to Edit the Playlist Item. Here I can finalize configure my new Video.

I feel like I'm navigating twice for the same Video addition. Back to Back screens would be a nice and easy fix or an additional link in the Video by URL screen. In my second screenshot, from the Duration button in Edit Playlist Items, there is a hyperlink into the configuration of my Video Widget Settings which lead to the first screenshot ... It would be nice to be able to jump between the two when initially adding a video...or any item...I think adding an Image Widget would qualify here as well.

Let me know if you have any questions.
Thank you,
Joe Kirchner

 

(Edited)
Photo of Darius - PRODO.us

Darius - PRODO.us, Champion

  • 26,850 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
This is bugging me too. I am often confused which one to click in order to change the name. Logically I click on the 'name....' Wrong!