Question About Rise App/Player Check into "Server/Content" check-in?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Answered
  • (Edited)
I have a quick question..... I am mainly using the Chrome Rive Vision APP via chromebox devices... I do have 3 NUC's w/ Ubuntu Player deployed..

I am currently Self Hosting content via one of my websites through Bluehost.

Question I have is in regards to the Rise Vision Player/App.. How often or is there a set duration for the player to check the Hosting Server or Image URL without forcing a update? Does the player check back say every 10 mins etc with me publishing the presentation file or forcing device to preform an update?

My question being if I have a media file self hosted and am using a set unique URL for that media file, example  WhateverWebsite.com/Mylife/.1png , I pull this media file URL and place it into the Presentation and initially publish......

If I was to go into my website media library and change the media file image, but I Keep the same URL WhateverWebsite.com/Mylife/.1png.... Will the Image be able to be update to the display within a set time frame or when/if the pc player checks back to the server? If So what is the check back rate?

I was able to test this functionality by changing the content and forcing a player restart via the display tab on one of my NUC Ubuntu players without hitting publish in the presentation section...
So theoretically this would happen once a day with the timed auto update, but I have had to set all my Chromebox devices update to "NONE" as it was causing issues...

So does the player check back to the servers without being forced too?

Sorry for the winded question, hope I was able to cover the details. Please let me know if there is any information on this type of functionality....

Cheers
Chad
Photo of Mylife614 .

Mylife614 .

  • 2,326 Points 2k badge 2x thumb

Posted 4 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Blake Freeman

Blake Freeman, Official Rep

  • 36,116 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Mylife,

With the current image item, if you overwrite an image with another image of the same name you will only see the new image if:
  1. The cache is cleared manually by deleting the cache
  2. the cache is cleared by a reboot
Photo of Mylife614 .

Mylife614 .

  • 2,326 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
Blake,
Thank You. So the short answer is no, As we continue the growth of our network I am just thinking of some different things. With the NUC's I would know the content would update minimally once daily at the 3am sched reboot, unless I forced it. 

Problem being we have 8 chromeboxes deployed and will have another handful to upgrade locations shortly, Using both Asus (which seems to be popular choice here on forum) and Dell. I have to set these to "None" on the reboot so they do not go down.... I have seen alot of questions about the reboot on the chromebox's over the past few months, have there been any solutions besides setting the devices to "None". 

Y'alls help is greatly appreciated, I honestly wish I had significant programming knowledge to assist more, but this community is great with alot of highly skilled individuals... I had several talks over the phone with a google engineer that work with the chromebox platform. Wish I would have mentioned this. although via the community posts it seems to be mainly the ASUS models running into issues. 
Photo of Blake Freeman

Blake Freeman, Official Rep

  • 36,116 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Mylife,

It seems like the chromebox issues you are seeing are not extremely common. We have many chromeboxes in our office that reboot on schedule as anticipated. It's hard to button down exactly what is going on there.
Photo of Mylife614 .

Mylife614 .

  • 2,326 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
Question: in regards to the original question presented. When I view a display: green heart beat Next to it show a time and a date (If on/ greens means last time it was updated....) I havent push any new content within the time frame that is showing.... Is this the pc checking back?
Photo of Blake Freeman

Blake Freeman, Official Rep

  • 36,116 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
The green symbol just signifies that the display has checked in, not necessarily that it has refreshed or updated content.