Player Browser History Not Saving

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • Solved
I just downloaded the current version of the player for Windows 64-bit, and it's no longer saving the browser history. Every time the player restarts, everything is reset. Our player is linked to a site that shows stats, and requires being logged in. Previously, this wasn't a problem as the player would always save the login info. But now that the player deletes browsing data after every restart, it's causing major problems for us.

Please at least give us the option to save browser/player data!
Photo of Kyle

Kyle

  • 708 Points 500 badge 2x thumb

Posted 2 years ago

  • 1
Photo of HSuarez

HSuarez

  • 11,896 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
Hi Kyle,
I tested on Linux and Windows using pluralsight.com (which required a log in) and was able to remain logged in after a reboot and restart. This is on the latest player as well. I've also used the Web Page Widget and just wanting to check with you if this is the Widget used?
Thanks!

Hannah
Photo of Kyle

Kyle

  • 708 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
Hey Hanna! Yes I'm using the Web Page widget, which is where my issue is. I'm using a 64-bit version of the player I downloaded a week ago, and it's running on Windows 7 64-bit.
Photo of HSuarez

HSuarez

  • 11,896 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
Hi Kyle,
Can you uninstall the Rise Player that you have and then reinstall using the .exe at https://help.risevision.com/user/crea... ? We rolled out an update very very recently for this issue.

The website that I used to test is pluralsight.com and I tested on x64 Linux and Windows.

Let me know how you go,

Hannah
Photo of Kyle

Kyle

  • 708 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
Good to know! I'll do that and report back
Photo of Kyle

Kyle

  • 708 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
That worked! It must have been updated in the last week. Thanks Hannah! One last quick question if you don't mind: I was looking for a "Start Player" shortcut somewhere, but the only one like that that I could find was the "Restart Rise Vision Player", but every time I try and use that it brings up the "Install Rise Vision Player" window where it asks for my player ID and if I want to add it to the startup process.
Photo of HSuarez

HSuarez

  • 11,896 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
Hi Kyle,
With the Restart Player issue (where when you select Restart and it starts the whole install again), we'll be working on correcting this within the next few weeks. Thanks!
Photo of Kyle

Kyle

  • 708 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
Hannah, you're awesome! Thank you!!
Photo of Robb

Robb, Official Rep

  • 76,676 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Kyle,

I just wanted to make it clear that this update was rolled out at 100%, which means that upon your next Player restart, you would get this update. No need to reinstall the newest version of the Player.

Thanks!
Photo of Kyle

Kyle

  • 708 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
Thank you both Hanna and Robb!