Need Some Work Arounds

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Not a Problem
I run a fairly small nonprofit where we installed a large display using this system to communicate with clients (instead of having paper flyers all over the desk).  For many, many months (perhaps 2 years now) this has worked great with little problems.

However, there seems to have been some rapid changes with Rise Vision, and some changes predicated with Google API's.  I must say, I've very disappointed that I did not get an email or something that things were going to break in advanced and I had to find out by people looking at the screen.  Since we are not developers or digital signage companies, we don't tend to hang out on these boards regularly to see the announcements.  

While many of the changes are positive, I'm struggling with a few issues and  I'm looking for some work-arounds:

Weather App:  Former layout (3-day vert) had a larger Icon to the left with the the text beside the icon, New layout had the day, the icon and the temps in a single centered vertical column.  Just a style preference, but I'd have to redesign my entire layout to accommodate the new style.

Google Calendar:  This is totally screwed up.  If I could make an impassioned plea to the developer gods, I'd ask that every text option have a 'hide' checkbox next to it (similar to the "hide wind/pressure on the weather widget.  I want to hide everything but the day of the week text and the time (In our case, this will show our hours of operations.)  However, in a different use-case, I could see a need to only have the day & title and not the times.  I could also see wanting the title and time, but not the day (perhaps for a todays events area).  I can change these to transparent, but they still take up a lot of space.

Also, it would be great to have a choice of days (Show tomorrow, or show the day after tomorrow when choosing a single day display) or a range of days (show the next X number of days)

Bulletin:  This is a good start and I was excited to see this as an option, however, it's still missing my must have feature - Text OVER photos.  On the main presentation area on our display I've typically used a 1280x720 photo (very easy to find size) and overlay with text to get attention.  This is a pain in app and would make this so much easier for non-designers to use.

Also - where's the background color option??  This is a major missing element, especially since you can not use a photo as a background.

Also, please make the editing area background not white  similar to many of the other text viewing areas on the new configuration pages - this would really help those of us using white text!

Google Spreadsheet:  There is no longer a scroll direction option here used to provide a horizontal scroll, now it is now a vertical scroll with no option to change!  Also, on preview, the 'play until done option did not allow the scroll to finish.

Color Picker: A more general issue is the new color picker - they have no predefined colors (white anyone?) and if you click and drag the selector to the top corner and release just outside the box, the settings do not change.  You must release inside the box and the boarder is not thick enough for quick use. 



Sorry if this is coming across very negative - I don't mean to be, but these are the issues i'm finding and hope to see some changes on soon!  

Otherwise, we've been very happy with this platform for the limited use we put it through!
Photo of Biologyben

Biologyben

  • 3,558 Points 3k badge 2x thumb
  • Frustrated

Posted 4 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Byron

Byron, Keener

  • 9,658 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Biologyben, 

First off, you are completely right. We have tripled the size of our development team and with it tripled, and then some, the number of development projects we have open, and, we are delivering on all of them, quickly. The bad news is we can't keep up with them.

We invested heavily in our development efforts and to be honest we haven't made that same level of investment in our administration and communication infrastructure. And on top of it Google is doing the same thing and we are trying to keep up with them.

By no means is this an excuse or abdication of our responsibilities to properly communicate what is going on and what will be happening. I'm just letting you know where we are at and that I have a ton of work to do so that we can keep pounding out software without pissing people like you off. Albeit you are really polite about it. And thank you for that.

Weather, Calendar, Spreadsheet and Color Picker. All really good points. Let me review with the team and we will be back to you by end of the week.

Re. Bulletin. At this point I can't make any promises. The usage of it has been underwhelming and I am not sure that it makes sense to keep investing in it. But, as always, I am open to ideas and everything about it has been open sourced and is available to anyone who wants to take it and use it. Actually if there is anyone out there who wants to turn it into a product for the community at large and run with it I would actually be willing to contribute funding towards the effort. Anyone?

Once again Ben you are right, our communication has just sucked lately and for that I am very sorry and I am on it. And, I really appreciate you taking the time to provide such constructive feedback. Thank you for that!

Byron
Photo of Biologyben

Biologyben

  • 3,558 Points 3k badge 2x thumb
Thanks for the quick reply! I didn't 't even know about the bulletin option as we last made changes more than a month ago!

I would think that if you just had a background options (color & photo) for the bulletin (which then was also displayed when using the designer), this would immediately see more use for simple cases like mine .

There is a third reason bulletin hasn't taken off - it's a little unnerving to give blanket access to an app for the documents in a google drive -especially if you use it for business docs as well. I nearly stopped at that point myself. However, I thought this worked very well in practice an was a great integration!

For now I'm making a presentation for each 'slide' and able to make that work very well, but it's a little complicated to teach my non-tech staff. I'll guess your other clients do the same with more tech savvy staff.
Photo of Alex

Alex, Champion

  • 10,070 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
Hi Biologyben, I've made the suggestion for a simple background for the Text item, a few years ago. It's by far the most popular thing I get asked - could you visit this forum page and give it a +1? https://community.risevision.com/rise...
Photo of Robb

Robb, Official Rep

  • 76,676 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Alex and Biologyben,

The new Text Widget allows for a background colour, could you use that instead?
Photo of Biologyben

Biologyben

  • 3,558 Points 3k badge 2x thumb
Personally, I have not used the text widget either, however, I did some quick testing and can say No, this does not address the root issue. 

If the issue was just to have Text & a photo together without needing a presentation created, then perhaps.  In fact, the Text widget and the bulletin are extremely similar - duplicating much of the same functionality (although one gets save to Google drive and the other is not).  This is likely another large reason bulletin hasn't had the following which was anticipated.  

However, I was stating specifically the ability to have Text over a Photo Background.  As an alternative (if this is too difficult to achieve),Text AND a Photo placed on a colored background.  Neither the text widget nor bulletin will do this.

Again, this is easy to do as a presentation, but it's a much more complicated process to have many nested presentations.  Especially in my case, with 'sub-companies'  which are really just user groups who only have access to place information in to a presentation that is part of the larger display area.  Then the user group also has multiple simple presentations to create and track that are literally just simple text on a photo to make simple announcements.  This is way too complicated for most entry level or non-tech users
Photo of Biologyben

Biologyben

  • 3,558 Points 3k badge 2x thumb
I had a few more minutes to play and found there seems to be three different ways to do a simple Text insert (Placeholder>Content>Bulletin, Placeholder>Text, Placeholder>Content>Text)

The first two I was using in my comments above (they both can add images, neither can add a colored background)

The last, which now I assume Robb was referencing, does have Text and Background, but no photo insert. I could live without the photo background if that is required; however, I would definitely need text, photo & background color in one item if that were the case.
Photo of Blake Freeman

Blake Freeman, Official Rep

  • 36,116 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Biologyben,

I want to make you aware I think that I have replicated the issue that you have seen with 'play until done' in the spreadsheet widget, and I've logged a bug for our developers. 

Would you be able to expound upon this problem so I can make sure I'm seeing things correctly?

Thank you for your constructive comments.
(Edited)
Photo of Biologyben

Biologyben

  • 3,558 Points 3k badge 2x thumb
Clarifications -- My assumption of how it should work:
  • I assume the intent of the 'play until done' feature would force the spreadsheet widget would scroll through all the spreadsheet items until each item listed in the spreadsheet  are displayed.  If someone were to have a huge spreadsheet, then I assume they turn off the 'play until done' so another item will take over after the specified time period has ended, and then shows all the other items, and then resumes the display of the spreadsheet content from where it left off when it cycles back through.
In my use-case, I intend to have just only have one item in the placeholder (the spreadsheet widget) and I had been using this to display a 'ticker' type bar that we use for community announcements.  This gets updated via on a Google Form that we have share with specific people and they get to automagically make things show up on our display between the dates they specify on the form.  (I discussed how to do this HERE a 18 months ago - It is still working great! THIS is an example Form.  THIS is an example display. THIS is the Spreadsheet & Formulas (I'm using the 'current' page, but you could also display any upcoming items.)  However, in testing with the gadget & Widget in the same placeholder, it would reset & start over every 10 seconds even with 'play until done' set. 

Anyway, it makes a terrible 'ticker' if it doesn't scroll left like the prior gadget version did.  Fortunately, the gadget still works for me... for now...

(P.S. May I just point out how utterly confusing the terms 'Widget' & 'Gadget' are when used for similar items in the same system?!  I assume all gadgets will be depreciated and your intent is only to have widgets.  Otherwise the naming convention could not be more confusing!  Alternatively, we should embrace these standards and I suggest the next major feature class should be called a Gizmo)
(Edited)
Photo of Robb

Robb, Official Rep

  • 76,676 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Thanks very much for the replies biologyben, we are all discussing these now, with the absolute intent to correct these issues in the Text Widget. We have that issue open for the Spreadsheet Widget, and either myself or Blake will update this convo with what we decide to do about the other items you mentioned above.

You're spot on about the Gadgets all being deprecated. Unfortunately we can't call the next iteration Gizmo, because after that will come Gremlins, and then whatever the different permutations were called in Gremlins 2.
Photo of Blake Freeman

Blake Freeman, Official Rep

  • 36,116 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Biologyben,

Regarding your color picker comments "Color Picker: A more general issue is the new color picker - they have no predefined colors (white anyone?) and if you click and drag the selector to the top corner and release just outside the box, the settings do not change.  You must release inside the box and the boarder is not thick enough for quick use. "

Would you be able to provide a screencast of what you are experiencing here? I would like to pass it on to one of our developers so he has a better idea of what is going on for our users.

Thanks!
Photo of Biologyben

Biologyben

  • 3,558 Points 3k badge 2x thumb
This shows that I have Click & Dragged the selector in the top corner to change the text (Column Header Sample Text) to white.  The cursor doesn't show up for printscreen, but it is just to the outside edge of the selector box.




Here, I've released my drag and tou can see the Text is still black instead of white.


In taking these screen shots, I realized that part of the problem is I must have my browser window (chrome) set at 67% size to see the whole display area.  This makes the selector area much smaller.  I do this because I'm on a ultrabook with a 13" 1366x768 display.  

If I were a graphics designer, my workaround would be to use a 1920x1080 screen all the time - unfortunately, this is not possible for me...
Photo of Blake Freeman

Blake Freeman, Official Rep

  • 36,116 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Ben,

I would like to get your comments on the Google Calendar and Spreadsheet Widgets that we released a few weeks ago. Both include custom layout options. Were these useful to you?
Photo of Biologyben

Biologyben

  • 3,558 Points 3k badge 2x thumb
I haven't tried the calendar as the other one has worked for me thus far and I only have time to fix things that are broken.  I tried the spreadsheet again, but it still can not do a horizontal scroll like before which is essential for me.
Photo of Blake Freeman

Blake Freeman, Official Rep

  • 36,116 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Ben,

Thanks for getting back to me on that. When you get a chance, I'd love to know what you think about the calendar widget. I understand your issue with the spreadsheet widget, unfortunately I don't have a way to remedy that at the moment. 
Photo of priyanka kothari

priyanka kothari

  • 152 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Hi,

I have developed a widget and I have given opacity to that widget but when i am including the same widget on risevision, opacity is not working. Can anybody please help..
Photo of Alex Kolenoff

Alex Kolenoff

  • 3,506 Points 3k badge 2x thumb
priyanka, I see you posted the same question in another thread, and I have asked for more details there for our developers.