image widget with Custom URLs never load on player

  • 4
  • Problem
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • Not a Problem
Images are stored in Google Docs. Placing these images in Placeholders with the Image Gadget works beautifully. If the same image is placed in Placeholders with Image Widget/Custom URL, the images appear in Preview after a brief delay with a message indicating images are being loaded (every time for each image, btw). These images will NEVER appear, however, on Chrome Player on Asus Chromeboxes. For now, I guess I'm going to have to continue using the Classic Editor and Image Gadget—knowing that at some point it will be disabled.
Photo of David Wolfe

David Wolfe

  • 690 Points 500 badge 2x thumb

Posted 3 years ago

  • 4
Photo of Ashleigh

Ashleigh

  • 3,740 Points 3k badge 2x thumb
Hi David,

When you mention that your Images are stored on Google Docs, do you mean to say Google Drive? 

Unfortunately, we don't support Drive with our Image widget. I'd also make sure that your player is up-to-date so that your images are caching correctly.

Thanks!

Ashleigh
Photo of David Wolfe

David Wolfe

  • 690 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
Sorry, yes I meant Google Drive. Why would the Image widget "not support" images stored/hosted on Google Drive? I ask because they work just fine with the classic editor's Image content type. The only thing needed for them to work is the direct URL of the image, which is easily obtained with the Direct Link extension for Google Drive.

The players have been updated to the newest version, but with no change. It's not really that the images are not being cached—they're not even loaded on the Player. In Preview, there is a brief message saying, "Please wait while your image is downloaded." On the Players, there is no message or error—simply an empty placeholder.

The same images work 1) in the Image content type of the classic editor 2) as background images for Presentations using the classic or new editor 3) as embedded img src URLs in Google Sheets using the new Google Spreadsheet Widget 4) called in HTML using the HTML Widget. I can think of no reason why a simple URL that points to a valid image file would not work in the new Image Widget.

If there is no plan to eliminate the classic editor and it's Image content type, then I'm fine with continuing to use it. Recent developments cast doubt on that being the case. As a simple image is the most basic of content types required for digital signage, I simply cannot believe that the developers' intention is to not support (i.e., actively prohibit) their display from anywhere on the Internet from where they may be served. Absent the ability to display images served from anywhere (i.e., corporate web servers, google, amazon, dropbox), there seems to be a critical flaw in the platform.
Photo of Ashleigh

Ashleigh

  • 3,740 Points 3k badge 2x thumb
Hi David,

Sorry for the trouble you've experienced. We do appreciate your feedback and take your concerns into serious consideration. 

What I meant was (apologies for lack of clarity) we do not support Google Drive integration with our widgets. While yes, you can obtain a direct link, we can't guarantee reliability as we haven't directly tested with that platform. 

Question - will the images load using a different url? If you could kindly forward your CID and name of the presentation I will take a closer look for you.

Ashleigh
I'm having the same problem with the new editor. I'm using photobucket as a host with a direct link. The images will load in the editor but not in the player. In the preview screen the images will load too.
Photo of Robb

Robb, Official Rep

  • 76,676 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Sorry to hear you are having trouble. Any chance you can shoot support@risevision.com with a link to that Presentation so we can see if we can determine the issue?

Thanks!
Off course, coming your way.