how to remove sub company from a company

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • Answered
I have a sub-company{A} (under another sub-company{B}) that I need to get out from under {B} while keeping it under the originating company{C}. Thus the current arrangement is C->B->A and the desired arrangement is C-.B, C->A. Is there a way to do this without deleting A? If I delete A can I then recreate it as A or will I need to call it E?
Photo of Brian Dolge

Brian Dolge

  • 510 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
  • like I wished documentation was better

Posted 2 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Blake Freeman

Blake Freeman, Official Rep

  • 36,116 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Hi Brian,

You'll need to go into the sub company (A) and get the authentication key. You can get this by clicking your profile icon in the top right, then clicking Company Settings. Copy the authentication key, and go back to Company C. Under company C, click add new sub-company, Then select Move a Company under your Company. Paste the authentication key, and apply.
Photo of Brian Dolge

Brian Dolge

  • 510 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
Thanks, that worked, but now I have a related problem; I have a user who when he logs in goes to company B. He wants to go to company A on login, but have admin rights in both B and A, although B and A are no longer related except through C. Is this possible and how would he navigate between two companies which are both sub-companies of a third? Would I need to have him sign in to C and then migrate to B or A? How can I change his login association?
Photo of Blake Freeman

Blake Freeman, Official Rep

  • 36,116 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
The only way to do this would be to add him as an administrator to company C, he would then have access to A & B.

Alternatively, he could create a separate gmail account and use unique logins for both!
Photo of Brian Dolge

Brian Dolge

  • 510 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
Can I have him as a user in C and admin in A & B?
Photo of Blake Freeman

Blake Freeman, Official Rep

  • 36,116 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Brian,

Unfortunately no. permissions are inherited from the parent company.
Photo of Brian Dolge

Brian Dolge

  • 510 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
OK, so how can I change his login association so that when he logs in he goes to company C rather than company B as is the case currently? Will he just automatically enter at his highest available company?
Photo of Blake Freeman

Blake Freeman, Official Rep

  • 36,116 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
You will need to remove him from Company B and add his login to Company C.

  • Navigate to company B
  • Click your profile icon in the top right
  • Click "Company Users"
  • Select the user you wish to move
  • Click delete
  • Navigate to company C
  • Click your profile icon in the top right
  • Click "Company Users"
  • Click Add User
  • Add the user credentials